I saw a video on another users wordpress blog (http://thinkcreatedesign.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/nooma-022-tomato/) that partly inspired the post, the other half came from my young adult bible study at Peace Lutheran Church of Waterford Michigan. 

During the last two weeks of bible study, we have been talking about the choices we make in our daily lives and what really causes us to make those decisions.  If you take a moment to think and right down some of the choices you have made recently and what deciding factors helped make your decision, I think you will be surprised.  All to often we make our decision based on fear, temptation, gulit, instead of faith that God is on our side and will lead us down the correct path. As described in Luke 10:27 … “And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself.”

This first video that I found on (http://thinkcreatedesign.wordpress.com) user blog opened my eyes and made me realize that even the smallest thing someone says or does can effect what others might choose.  The creator of the video Rob Bell talks about how much we learn from the world around us, so when we make a decision, what we decide not only effects us but everyone that decides to follow our example.  Why do we choose what we do?  It could be as simple as telling a small lie to make yourself look better to others, or feeling that the truth is too scary to let it out.  It’s different for everyone, so stop and take that moment when faced with a decision big or small and see if you are making the correct decision with your heart.

NOOMA Tomato | 022 Rob Bell

 

The previous video and blog lead me to find http://www.nooma.com and more of Rob Bell’s videos on http://www.youtube.com.  This next video of Rob Bell made me want to write more about right decisions we make but for the wrong reasons.  This video inspired the blog title.   Rob talks about how God wants you to honor him with all your heart, mind and soul … not feeling obligated to show up for Church on Sundays or donating your time or money when your heart isn’t in it.

NOOMA Sunday | 004 Rob Bell

 

This last video I want to share with you, came up under the related list when I finished watching the above “Sunday” video by Rob Bell.  I thought the illustration story that this speaker used was awesome and it really showed me what we sometimes give God just to make our self feel better, when God is really expecting all our Heart, Mind and Soul.

God wants my heart…

 

To end this blog post, I want to draw attention to a song by Lincoln Brewster called “Love the Lord”.  The main lyrics of the song says “Love the lord your God with all your HEART, with all your SOUL and with all your MIND”.  We play this song some Sundays at my church, but now I realize how important this one sentence is to building my relationship with God.   It’s a easy song to sing as a group or just by yourself in the car, declaring our endless love for the Lord our God. 

Here are the full lyrics of Lincoln Brewster “Love the Lord”

Love the Lord your God
With all your heart
With all your soul
With all your mind
And with all your strength (2x)

With all your heart
With all your soul
With all your mind
And with all your strength
Love the Lord your God
With all your heart
With all your soul
With all your mind
And with all your strength

I will serve the Lord
With all my heart
With all my soul
With all my mind
And with all my strength (2x)

With all my heart
With all my soul
With all my mind
And with all my strength
I will serve the Lord
With all my heart
With all my soul
With all my mind
And with all my strength

I will love You (I will love You)
I will praise You (I will praise You)
I will serve You, Lord (I will serve You)
I will trust You, Lord (I will trust You)

And with all my heart
With all my soul
With all my mind
And with all my strength
With all my heart
With all my soul
With all my mind
With all my strength

I will love You Lord
With all my heart
With all my soul
With all my mind
And with all my strength (3x)

 

 Lost or Saved?

All are welcome to worship and fellowship with us, click for more information.

Something to think about,

Curlee

